:: The visual notepad ::

“ Twelve significant photographs in any one year is a good crop – Ansel Adams

My tools of the trade


toolsIn this post I’d like to share a few ‘tools’ I often use. They’re not only photography related tools but also, if you’re a Firefox or Chrome user, extensions I found out are great time savers.

Firefox add-ons

  1. FoxClocks– Want to keep an eye on world times? This little extension places multiple clocks in your status bar.
  2. ColorZilla –  Although I’m not a web developer or a graphic designer, I find ColorZillareally useful when changing colors in my website or blog. It’s as easy as clicking with the color picker on any point in your browser window.
  3. Firebug– I find this tool useful for little and easy changes I want to make to my website and blog style sheets. If you are CSS and HTML proficient you will find a lot of its features really useful.
  4. Converter– This is another one I like a lot. It basically helps you convert units, currencies and time zones.
  5. Shareaholic– Could not live without it! Just share almost anything you find on the web.
  6. Evernote – It’s a great tool if you want to ‘clip’ the web and save interesting pages and articles you come across. You can sync what you clip so you can always have it at hand anywhere you are. I especially like the ClearlyEvernote add on: It makes blog posts, articles and webpages clean and easy to read. Save them to Evernote to read them anywhere.
  7. Clippings– This is wonderful if you have frequently-entered text and want to save it for later.  Just create your text and paste it into G+, Facebook, blogs and other text forms! It also supports HTML.
  8. Colt – A must have! From the Colt’s page: It makes it easy to copy either a link’s text, or both the link text and its URL in a format you specify. This non-invasive extension simply appears as context menu items when you right-click a link. Fully customizable!
  9. Xmarks – I have tons of bookmarks! With this tool I can back up them safely and keep them in sync. I found it especially useful when I had to format my desktop pc hard drive and had to reinstall my browser. In a few clicks my bookmarks where back in place.

Software

  1. FastStone Image Viewer– Although I have Lightroom, I find myself using this tool more often than not. It’s extremely easy to use and has some neat features too, like images batch converting, watermark creation, image comparison, cropping and many more. Best of all, it’s free! Highly recommended!
  2. Light Image Resizer– Another free tool to convert and resize (works also with RAW files), apply watermarks and batch edit images.
  3. Karen’s Replicator– This is an extremely and very efficient (free!) tool for backing up or copying your files and folders between hard drives. I use it daily for backing up my images. NEVER FORGET TO BACK UP YOUR IMAGES!
  4. Spyder3Pro(Now Spyder4Pro) – This was the best thing I could buy for my workflow. It’s not free, but my hard earned money was well spent. At least now I can say I have a color calibrated monitor!
  5. Camerabag 2– For Mac and PC, it is a fun app to give your shots a moody, vintage look. More than 100 filters to play with!
  6. Photoscape(free) – I mainly use it when I want to create diptychs or triptychs with my images. It has many other interesting features like Gif creation, screen capture or combining images on a page.
  7. Dropbox– You can share files and folders and keep them in sync between your computers. I use it to store Camerabag 2 custom filters and my Lightroom backups and settings.
  8. GoodNoows – Right now it’s my news reader of choice. It’s entirely web based and very customizable. Only thing, you can import your feeds but not export them (for now). Another interesting news reader is Bamboo, a Firefox extension with export/import feature.

That’s all, folks! Smile At least for now. Hope you’ll find my suggested tools useful.

8 comments on “My tools of the trade

  1. Sonali Dalal
    June 12, 2012

    Thanks for sharing.

    • sil
      June 12, 2012

      Glad you liked it! 🙂

  2. beweightless
    June 12, 2012

    Sil, ma quante ne sai! Utilissimo, grazie!

    • sil
      June 12, 2012

      Sono contenta che i suggerimenti ti siano serviti 🙂

  3. edithlevyphotography
    June 13, 2012

    Some great tips. Thanks for sharing Sil.

    • sil
      June 13, 2012

      You’re very welcome, Edith! 🙂

    • sil
      June 14, 2012

      Thanks a lot! 🙂

  4. Pingback: The Links Capsule–June 18 2012 « :: The visual notepad ::

Your thoughts?

Information

This entry was posted on June 12, 2012 by in Tools and tagged , , , , , , , , , .

A coffee to brighten my day :)

Buy me a coffee :)

Please consider a little donation! You will help me maintain my passion for photography and pay for website hosting, photo contests and software. Thanks so much! Donate securely through PayPal.

Sell Art Online

Sell Art Online

RSS Fine art prints limited time promotions and other goodies!

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
