:: The visual notepad ::

“ Twelve significant photographs in any one year is a good crop – Ansel Adams

Old people


Here are a few recent shots I took in my hometown on a rainy Saturday while it was ‘market day’.

I decided to carry my compact Canon Powershot A2200 for the little room it takes in my shoulder bag. I don’t mind its weaknesses, like being a bit noisy as compared to my DSLR (of course!).  I’ll eventually emphasize grain in post production via software.

As I went through the images I took, it caught my attention the fact I had mostly taken shots of old people. These are the three I liked best.

Have a great start of the week everyone!

Old lady at the market by Silvia Ganora Photography

Old lady at the market – ©Silvia Ganora Photography

Walking sticks by Silvia Ganora Photography

Walking sticks – ©Silvia Ganora Photography

Better open the umbrella by Silvia Ganora Photography

Better open the umbrella – ©Silvia Ganora Photography

13 comments on “Old people

  1. mikeosbornphoto
    May 22, 2012

    Very good candids/street shots. The old ladies make compelling subjects.

    • sil
      May 22, 2012

      Many thanks Mike!

  2. Cornelia Lohs
    May 22, 2012

    Great shots!

    • sil
      May 23, 2012

      Thanks so much Cornelia!

  3. beweightless
    May 22, 2012

    davvero molto belle Sil. penso che certe espressioni che hanno le persone anziane rendano uniche le fotografie come queste. ho intenzione di cimentarmi presto in qualcosa di simile, ma sono un pò titubante perché non mi sembra per niente facile cogliere questi momenti e la loro espressività.

    • sil
      May 23, 2012

      Grazie mille 🙂 Anche io mi sento sempre in imbarazzo quando provo a fare foto di questo tipo. E’ un genere di fotografia al quale non sono abituata. Spero che ti possa cimentare anche tu perché sono curiosa di vedere i tuoi scatti 🙂

      • beweightless
        May 23, 2012

        temo che sarà tutto particolarmente complicato, visto che scatto in analogico. forse un approccio digitale sarebbe un pò più facile da gestire… poi ho anche paura che la gente si infastidisca. va bé, vedremo 😉

  4. timruane24
    May 23, 2012

    Great shots, top one is super.

  5. Cornelia Lohs
    May 23, 2012

    I like your blog and have nominated you for both the Very Inspiring Blog Award and the One Lovely Blog Award. See details here: http://strassenfotojournal.com/2012/05/23/blogger-awards-2/
    Greetings, Cornelia

    • sil
      May 25, 2012

      Thanks a bunch, Cornelia! 🙂 I will post the awards and my nominations asap. Have a great day!

  6. joshi daniel
    May 27, 2012

    old and lovely 🙂

    • sil
      May 27, 2012

      Thanks so much!

Your thoughts?

Information

This entry was posted on May 22, 2012 by in Photography, Visual scribbles and tagged , , , .

Twitter Updates

Websites for Photographers

A coffee to brighten my day :)

Buy me a coffee :)

Please consider a little donation! You will help me maintain my passion for photography and pay for website hosting, photo contests and software. Thanks so much! Donate securely through PayPal.

Sell Art Online

Sell Art Online

RSS Fine art prints limited time promotions and other goodies!

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
