:: The visual notepad ::

“ Twelve significant photographs in any one year is a good crop – Ansel Adams

Two ‘old’ cameras I still love so much


Olympus XA camera and film

Image via Wikipedia

I got my little Olympus XA film camera back in 1984. It came in a nice black case and with its flash included. Unfortunately, it happened I burned out the flash many years later, and it was impossible for me to find a replacement.

This little camera came with me in many travels. It’s wide 35mm, f2.8  lens was really bright and sharp. Colors did pop. It had also Aperture priority mode and +1, -1 exposure compensation.

I took so many beautiful pictures with it, I’d really love to use it again but film has become expensive and so did having it developed by pro labs, at least where I’m living now.

The second camera is ‘only’ ten years old. Ten years in the digital era are indeed A LOT!

Olympus c-5050z - Photo from http://www.dpreview.com

My Olympus c-5050z is just a 5mp camera, its shutter lag is something I had to get used again, after using my D90, but it feels comfortable in my hands and comes with tons of settings I can customize to suit my photographic needs. Yes, noise is there, but if you like to convert your shots in black and white then it’s no more a big issue. It’s got also a f 1.8 super bright lens and a tilting LCD screen, and it uses two memory card slots.

I re-discovered it in the last few weeks. I wanted something less bulky and eye-catching thank my DSLR while out in my town’s streets during the Carnival. It took me some time to get used again to its innumerable settings but then I really enjoyed taking a few shots with it. You can see two of them here and here. I’ll be posting more in the upcoming weeks.

So, do you have any ‘old’ but good camera you’re particularly in love with and that maybe you’re still using?

One comment on “Two ‘old’ cameras I still love so much

  1. Pingback: At the café :: Two ladies « :: The visual notepad ::

Your thoughts?

Information

This entry was posted on March 11, 2012 by in Gear and tagged , , , .

Twitter Updates

Websites for Photographers

A coffee to brighten my day :)

Buy me a coffee :)

Please consider a little donation! You will help me maintain my passion for photography and pay for website hosting, photo contests and software. Thanks so much! Donate securely through PayPal.

Sell Art Online

Sell Art Online

RSS Fine art prints limited time promotions and other goodies!

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
