:: The visual notepad ::

“ Twelve significant photographs in any one year is a good crop – Ansel Adams

G+Project52–Week #8: Other Photographers


mondrians-glasses-and-pipe-by-andre-kertesz-personal-interpretation-1000px

Mondrian's Glasses and pipe by André Kertesz and my personal interpretation

Yes, last week’s theme for the G+Project52 has been kind of challenging: Other Photographers… I live in a little town in Northern Italy where seeing photographers around in the streets is not at all usual. To be honest, people look at you with curiosity and a bit suspicious when they see you with a camera in your hands. No chances for me to photograph other photographers in action… so I decided to pick a work from one of my favorite Masters and try to do my best to reproduce it my way.

I’ve always loved André Kertesz, his works are so inspiring. I scoured the internet and finally chose Kertesz’s  work Mondrian’s glasses and pipe. Apparently, it looked a simple shot. Apparently.

I set up everything on a little white tea cart and positioned it near a balcony window in my studio.  Shot this with my Sigma 50mm and in an awkward position, squeezed between my desktop and a armchair. Took many shots and at the end went for the one you see above. I had to get rid of the window in the background, so I selected it in PS and filled the spaces with black.

All in all, I like it and I had a great time. I may as well try a few more from other photographers… we’ll see…

Have a look at +Project52-2012 page on G+ to participate.

2 comments on “G+Project52–Week #8: Other Photographers

  1. edithlevyphotography
    February 20, 2012

    Love it. I actually think you improved upon the original.

    • sil
      February 20, 2012

      Many thanks Edith! Glad you liked it!

Your thoughts?

Information

This entry was posted on February 20, 2012 by in Famous Photographers, g+project52.2012, projects and tagged , , , .

Twitter Updates

Websites for Photographers

A coffee to brighten my day :)

Buy me a coffee :)

Please consider a little donation! You will help me maintain my passion for photography and pay for website hosting, photo contests and software. Thanks so much! Donate securely through PayPal.

Sell Art Online

Sell Art Online

RSS Fine art prints limited time promotions and other goodies!

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
