:: The visual notepad ::

“ Twelve significant photographs in any one year is a good crop – Ansel Adams

Winter mood


Winter mood photo by Silvia Ganora

Winter Mood - ©Silvia Ganora

Winter mood – Fine Art Prints

Time for my second submission for the GPLUS :: PROJECT52 :: 2012 – theme: Winter/Summer.

I shot this in my hometown in Northern Italy, while in search of some Winter scenes to submit. The original shot was pretty dull. In fact, I shot three exposures of the same scene and then merged them together in PS using the HDR feature. The resulting image did not please me… I tweaked the colors using Curves, but still the shot missed somethig, so I opted for a radical change of the whole mood.

I opened the tiff file in my Camerabag2 application and started playing around with different filters and settings until I came across this moody version. I also cropped the original. Here is a Before and After example showing the hdr and the tweaked curves versions:

Winter mood alternate versions by Silvia Ganora

It took me many trial and error attempts before sticking to the final version. The problem (and fun!) with softwares like Camerabag2 is that you’ll often end up with more than one striking version of your shot. It’s then up to your taste and vision to go for one rather than the other. For my final choice I particularly liked the orange tint and how the mist lifts up and lightens the air behind the trees.

5 comments on “Winter mood

  1. joshi daniel
    January 30, 2012

    beautiful!

    • sil
      January 30, 2012

      Many thanks again!

  2. Pingback: Going abstract « :: The visual notepad ::

  3. beweightless
    February 11, 2012

    I love the first one with orange light. Stunning!

    • sil
      February 12, 2012

      Thanks a lot!

Your thoughts?

Information

This entry was posted on January 10, 2012 by in Camerabag2, g+project52.2012, projects and tagged , , , , , , , , , .

A coffee to brighten my day :)

Buy me a coffee :)

Please consider a little donation! You will help me maintain my passion for photography and pay for website hosting, photo contests and software. Thanks so much! Donate securely through PayPal.

Sell Art Online

Sell Art Online

RSS Fine art prints limited time promotions and other goodies!

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
