:: The visual notepad ::

“ Twelve significant photographs in any one year is a good crop – Ansel Adams

Things to learn


Here is a list of things I’d like to learn in 2012. I’ll be more than happy if I’ll manage to accomplish even only one of these tasks.
  • Learn to use my on camera flash (have been trying to do this several times, but always ended up giving up the whole thing).
  • Learn to edit my images ‘manually’, that is, avoiding to rely on actions and plugins too much.
  • Start building up a portfolio of images to submit to Arcangel Images. This sounds pretty fun. Need to create moody images, LOTS of them. Arcangel mainly sells to mystery book publishers. On the learning side, I think this will force me to setup shots in my home using my light tent and my tungsten lights – or even my external flash… We’ll see.

Books to read:

Well, that’s all for now. I will post updates on the blog. Wish me luck! 🙂

5 comments on “Things to learn

  1. lightbox3d
    January 15, 2012

    HI SIl..As far as using the flash, I really knew very little about it until I bought an off-camera flash (Nikon SB 700). I then forced myself to learn how to use it by pouring over the internet and watched TONS of flash and “Strobist” videos. I spent time setting up my kids dolls and taking pictures of them with different light settings as well as other exercises to practice the things I saw online. It has made a HUGE difference in my flash skills. Ciao for now.

    • sil
      January 15, 2012

      Hi Gregory!

      Many thanks for your visit and comment. I own a Nikon sb600 flash and I’m planning to learn how to use it. I’ve found Neil van Niekerk’s site really useful. I’m just starting out, trying to read as much as I can on the topic. Trying to find the time too 🙂 Do you own any kind of flash diffuser? Ciao from Italy 🙂

      • lightbox3d
        January 30, 2012

        It came with a clip-on diffuser, which I found to be a big help. I also liked to take it off the camera and hold it up high with my left hand to get a more pleasing light/shadow (less harsh)

        • sil
          January 30, 2012

          Thanks so much for your reply 🙂

  2. Pingback: Dialing « :: The visual notepad ::

Your thoughts?

Information

This entry was posted on January 5, 2012 by in Books to read, Things to learn and tagged , , , , , .

A coffee to brighten my day :)

Buy me a coffee :)

Please consider a little donation! You will help me maintain my passion for photography and pay for website hosting, photo contests and software. Thanks so much! Donate securely through PayPal.

Sell Art Online

Sell Art Online

RSS Fine art prints limited time promotions and other goodies!

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
